12/03/14 – SURYA

Like our Facebook page and Follow us on Twitter for show updates!

7pm, Wednesday 12 March 2014

The Black Ink + Princes of Maine + False-Heads + Afterfleurs + Ivory Lines


156 Pentonville Road, London N1 9JL


Tickets: £5 in advance, £7 on the door

Buy tickets icon.jpg


The Black Ink

The Black Ink are genre jumping rock ‘n’ roll.

Nik Ledgard’s honey drenched falsetto vocals balanced with Matt Lintott’s Tom Waits-esque low tones are wrapped up in creative and original arrangements with a retro 70’s feel. Co-writing suggestive, direct and sometimes surreal lyrics, these two have been songwriting partners for a while now.

The songs are hook driven, insanely catchy dirty pop arrangements. With melodic storytelling basslines from Dave Wademan and some of the most original beats from John Bonham’s spiritual grandson, Pete Bembridge, the band showcases one of London’s most talented rhythm sections. The Black Ink are completed with ex-Hares, Babeshadow blues guitarist Mark Thorne.

The band cite influences from The Kinks, The Small Faces, Robert Johnson and David Bowie through to more modern day artists like Beck, Band of Skulls and Queens of the Stone Age. Think delta blues meets indie rock by way of Carnaby street in its prime.

The Black Ink have provided 2 tracks for the soundtrack of the British comedy ‘Almost Married’ due for release Spring 2014 featuring Emily Atack (The Inbetweeners) & Philip McGinley (Game of Thrones, Prometheus). The film was selected by LUFF and was screened at the BFI. The band will be performing at the Leicester Square premiere aftershow.

They have just shot the video for their track ‘Sweetness’ which along with ‘Tangerine’ is on the film’s soundtrack. The video featured Joanna Ignaczewska as seen in various TV series (Wallander, Miranda, Threesome).

The video for ‘Tangerine’, which can be viewed on YouTube, has so far received almost 30,000 hits. This is the band’s debut single, due for release in Spring 2014.


Princes of Maine

Princes of Maine a new band heralding from North London consisting of front man Oliver Cotton, Matthew Delany on bass, Liam Williams on lead guitar and James Firth on drums. Princes of Maine take influences from The Beatles, The La’s, The Libertines and Oasis creating there very own style of Indie/Rock and Roll. Catchy melodies, rock and roll guitar lines mixed with darker tones give this band a sound that is their own. It is the sound you have been all waiting for.



AfterFleurs, a four piece outfit from South London who in only a year of being together have graced a sundry of London’s most prolific gig venues adopting a mass of loyal fans with their infectious sound of guitar rock n roll and their energetic passion for live performances.



The first False-Heads EP ‘Animation Draining Needles’ was recorded in 2011. After a number of personnel changes the line up was settled on Luke Griffiths, Mop Head and Jake Elliott. Singles from the first EP ‘Where is Your Man’ and ‘Without a Doubt’ had positive reviews as well as making New to Q Radio’s single of the week and receiving airplay on BBC and other student and internet stations. The band played venues such as The Dublin Castle, Fiddlers Elbow and Proud Camden in London and the Blind Tiger and the famous Sticky Mike’s Frog Bar in Brighton. The second EP ‘Tunnel Vision’ was recorded in 2013 and released in July of that year. This EP garnered extremely positive attention from underground press and radio. Following this the band signed to Hi4Head Records who plan to re-release the EP in 2014 with an additional track ‘Anything Else”.


Ivory Lines

Ivory Lines are an electro/alternative pop band based in London. Sean will be playing a solo acoustic set at this show.